Professor Dr. Reiner Labitzke

The inventor of BONEHELIX®, Dr. Reiner Labitzke, can look back on a long and enriching career as a medical practitioner. Labitzke grew up in the GDR, where he completed the first half of his medical studies at the Humboldt University in East Berlin. He completed the state medical examination in the then Federal Republic of Germany, at the Free University of Berlin. He is a specialist in general, abdominal and trauma surgery.

Dr. Labitzke was Chief Medical Officer at the Trauma Surgery University Hospital in Essen, where he was Director of the Surgical Clinic from 1982 to 2004 and, from 1983, professor at the University of Witten/Herdecke.

His inclination towards surgical invention and innovation was aroused at the Bermannsheil Hospital in Bochum, where he developed a remedy for a fractured bone which wouldn't heal. Up to that point, binding wire, which, from Labitzke's point of view, wasn't suitable for the injury, was used. To replace it he developed a fine wire cable, which has since become the standard all over the world . Subsequently he published a reference book on surgical cable techniques, which has been translated into several languages, including, amongst others, Chinese.

In 2010 the German Society for Trauma Surgery's Louis Stromeyer Medal for literature was awarded to Dr. Labitzke for this book.

During this time, Dr. Labitzke built relationships with many colleagues in all fields of specialization and institutions, giving him a number of strong international contacts. He operates and supports colleagues in operating rooms all over the world, including Israel, the USA, China and Russia.

In the 1980s Labitske invented the predecessor of the BONEHELIX®. He was fascinated by the idea of using a slightly flexible spring to heal a bone fracture carefully and quickly. In 1980 he conducted his first operation on a patient, using the original BONEHELIX®.

A few years ago he was brought into contact with the directors of the company H&R, Heine and Remmen, who immediately recognized the opportunity and possessed the expertise to manufacture the BONEHELIX®. In cooperation with them the product achieved CE certification, and has been available on the international market ever since.

Professor Dr. Reiner Labitzke

Der Erfinder der BONEHELIX®, Professor Dr. Reiner Labitzke, blickt auf eine lange und erfahrungsreiche Geschichte als Mediziner zurück. Labitzke ist in der DDR aufgewachsen, wo er auch die erste Halbzeit des Medizinstudiums an der Humboldt-Universität in Ost-Berlin absolvierte. Sein medizinisches Staatsexamen machte er in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland an der Freien Universität Berlin. Er ist Facharzt für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Unfallchirurgie.

Prof. Dr. Labitzke war Leitender Oberarzt  in der Unfallchirurgischen Universitätsklinik Essen, 1982 bis 2004 Direktor der Chirurgischen Klinik und ab 1983 Lehrstuhlinhaber der Universität Witten/Herdecke.

Sein Hang zu Erfindungen in der Chirurgie wurde bereits am Krankenhaus Bergmannsheil in Bochum geweckt. Labitzke fand für einen nicht heilenden Knochenbruch die Lösung. Bei dem Eingriff wurde bis dato Bindedraht verwendet, der aus Sicht von Labitzke nicht für die Verletzung geeignet war. Stattdessen entwickelte er Feindrahtseile, die inzwischen weltweiter Standard sind. Über Seil-OP-Techniken verfasste er später ein Fachbuch, das in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt wurde, u. a. ins Chinesische.

2010 verlieh ihm die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Unfallchirurgie für dieses Lehrbuch den Literaturpreis mit der Louis-Stromeyer-Medaille.

Während der gesamten Zeit pflegte Prof. Dr. Labitzke vielfältige Kontakte zu Kollegen aller Fachrichtungen und Institutionen. So verfügt er auch heute noch über internationale Verbindungen. Er operierte und unterstützte in vielen Operationsräumen der Welt mit seinen Methoden, darunter in Israel, den USA, China und Russland.

Bereits in den Achtzigern entwickelte Labitzke den Vorläufer der BONEHELIX®. Ihn faszinierte die Idee, mit einer wenig biegsamen Feder Knochenbrüche schonend und zügig zu versorgen. 1990 operierte er die erste Patientin mit der Urform der BONEHELIX®.

Vor wenigen Jahren entstand der Kontakt zu den Geschäftsführern Heine und Remmen der Firma H&R, die sofort die Chance erkannten und das fachliche Know-how besaßen, die BONEHELIX® zu fertigen. Mit ihnen gemeinsam erlangte das Produkt die CE-Zertifizierung und steht seitdem international zur Verfügung.